T’WAS BETTER IN YE OLDE DAYS!

By the mid-2000, the retro trend was already well established in graphic design and general pop culture:  popular television series such as Mad Men, the return of the vinyl LPs and the retrogaming fad (think 1984 arcades). This blast from the past is a clear indicator of one strategic notion: nostalgia sells. The food industry is not excluded from the trend. On the contrary: the major players are foreseeing a valuable opportunity. In a world of processed foods, made of unpronounceable ingredients, manufacturers are aware that well-informed consumers are on the lookout for more authenticity.

With that in mind, in April 2009, Pepsico launched the Throwback product line, starring Pepsi and Mountain Dew, made with real sugar instead of corn syrup. To give the brands the full retro treatment, the products have been repackaged with their “good old day” look. These brands, which were first meant to be available in limited editions, have been included in the permanent Pepsico product catalog in March 2011. With a total revenue of about US$200 million per year, the success of this marketing strategy can be explained by the appeal to two distinct markets. First, the babyboomers, who will “reunite” with the product of their youths. Secondly, more surprisingly, the Y generation (born approximately between 1980 and 1996) who have raised the retro fad to an ultimate “cool” status: sharp and witty “youtubers”, they discover and enjoy the classic Pepsi ads with Cindy Crawford and Michael Jackson, with a mix of irony and nostalgia.

Another selling point supported by the retro trend: brand tradition and longevity. To celebrate its 90th anniversary in 2009, Danone introduced the Origines product line, offering 10 alternate packagings, inspired from the original graphic design platform.

C’ÉTAIT BIEN MEILLEUR DANS L’TEMPS!

Depuis le milieu des années 2000, la vague rétro est une tendance bien ancrée, tant dans le graphisme que dans la culture populaire en général : le succès des téléséries comme Mad Men, le regain de popularité des disques vinyle et le retour des jeux d’arcade (circa 1984). Toute cette vague dériverait d’un point sensible chez le consommateur d’aujourd’hui : la nostalgie. L’industrie alimentaire n’y échappe pas, au contraire. Les grands joueurs y voient une opportunité promotionnelle inestimable. Dans un monde d’aliments transformés, composés d’ingrédients parfois imprononçables, les fabricants misent sur l’appel des consommateurs informés à la recherche d’authenticité.

Ainsi, en avril 2009, PepsiCo a lancé sa gamme Throwback, mettant en vedette Pepsi et Mountain Dew, faite avec du vrai sucre, au lieu du sirop de maïs. Question de suggérer le retour du bon vieux temps, les emballages des deux marques ont retrouvé leur allure d’antan. Ces produits, d’abord disponibles en édition limitée, ont été intégrés de façon permanente dans la gamme de produits PepsiCo en mars 2011. Avec environ 220 millions $US de ventes par année, le succès de ce coup de marketing s’expliquerait par la conquête de deux marchés. D’abord les bébé-boumers, qui retrouvaient le produit et l’empreinte graphique de leur jeunesse. Puis, plus étonnamment, les « Y » (nés approximativement entre 1980 et 1996), ayant consacré le rétro au panthéon du cool. Avides utilisateurs de YouTube, ils ont découvert et apprécié les publicités classiques de Pepsi avec Cindy Crawford et Michael Jackson, avec un mélange d’ironie et de nostalgie.

Un autre argument de vente appuyé par l’emballage rétro : la tradition et la longévité d’une marque. Pour fêter ses 90 ans en 2009, Danone a lancé la gamme Origines, comprenant 10 emballages différents, inspirés de la plateforme graphique originale.