THE KANGAROO: TOO CUTE TO BE COOKED?

While it is still widely unknown, kangaroo meat seems to be getting good press regarding its many perks. First, roo meat is low in fat and high in linoleic acid, which can help reduce hypertension. Taste-wise, it is quite similar to venison, but can also be used to replace beef in a given recipe.

Secondly, since kangaroos’ digestive systems are unlike those found in cows and sheep, they do not emit as much carbon dioxide. In a way, if kangaroo meat becomes more popular and therefore reduces the massive demand for “traditional meats” like beef, there could be a reduction in greenhouse gases usually attributed to livestock. Finally, the Kangaroo Industry Association of Australia insures that kangaroo meat production thrives to be as responsible, sustainable and ethical as possible, establishing strict hunting quotas and using not only the animal’s meat, but also the leather and the liver.

 

 

But an important marketing challenge arises: the “Skippy syndrome”. Pretty hard to indulge in a delicious roo carpaccio all the while picturing the cute 1960ies TV show darling hopping around. In 2005, the Australian magazine Food Companion International launched a contest to find a new name for kangaroo meat. Australus was picked as the winning name by the magazine, however, it is not used by the food industry.

Today, if only about 15% of Australians eat kangaroo meat, it is also exported and considered as a curiosity amongst game meat afficionados. But with so many nutritious and “ecological” perks, it’s a sure bet that foodies from around the world will jump on the occasion to try this unique product.

LE KANGOUROU : TROP MIGNON À CROQUER?

Si elle reste pour l’instant relativement méconnue, la viande de kangourou est considérée être un bon choix alimentaire pour plusieurs raisons. D’abord, elle serait une viande faible en gras et présenterait une haute teneur en acide linoléique, reconnue pour participer à la réduction de la haute pression. Côté goût, la viande de kangourou serait semblable à la viande de cerf, et se présente comme une alternative au bœuf.

De plus, comme les kangourous ont un système digestif différent des bœufs et des moutons, ils émettraient moins de dioxyde de carbone. D’une certaine façon, si la production de ces viandes diminuait au profit du kangourou, une réduction des gaz à effet de serre pourrait être observée… Finalement, point de vue éthique, la Kangaroo Industry Association of Australia assure que la production de viande de kangourou se veut durable et responsable, en limitant les quotas et récupérant non seulement la viande, mais également le cuir et le foie.

 

 

Un problème important de mise en marché demeurerait : le « syndrome Skippy ». Difficile d’avaler une bouchée d’un délicieux carpaccio de kangourou en ayant en tête le générique de la fameuse émission des années 1960. En 2005, le magazine australien Food Companion International a lancé un concours pour donner un nom à la viande de kangourou. Le nom « Australus » aurait été retenu par le magazine, sans pour autant être utilisé par l’industrie alimentaire.

Aujourd’hui, si seulement 15 % des Australiens consomment cette viande, elle est aussi exportée et considérée comme une curiosité exotique chez les amateurs de gibier. Avec ces avantages nutritifs et « écologiques » complètement sautés, la viande de kangourou devrait plaire à certains gastronomes curieux du monde, pour qui l’exotisme et la singularité sont des critères de choix.